Complainy Post

I’ve misspent an hour and a half trying to find a good WordPress theme. There are only a few features I must have. Very simple. Haven’t found a forum yet where I can just ask for pointers. Have browsed many themes and found them all lacking. Need to give up for the day and do something useful. Just saying if you know where in the world of WordPress I can use human language to zero in on what I’m looking for, I’d appreciate the signpost.

Wants
* Set my own background color (127 choices is sufficient)
* A nice serif font
* Images can be wider than text column

What I want in right-hand sidebar:
* A brief About paragraph
– Basically a simple text / html box
* Search
* Old posts listed by year, expandable to month, then date/title
– This seems to be the hard thing to find
* The means to make a list of other sites
– Another text / html box

This shouldn’t be hard to find / customize. So far the recent posts list is the problem.

3 thoughts on “Complainy Post

  1. I’m sure you know this–all the features you are looking for are kind of routine on most blogger.com themes. I totally understand why people prefer wordpress, though. Even though wordpress and I do not get along.

    Like

  2. I’ve thought about going back to Blogger. But I want to slay this beast. The main thing is to know what can and can’t be customized in a given theme. I care about stupid things like header placement, font size, date format. The best path is probably to happen across a blog with close to the right look, find out which theme it uses, and go from there.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Agree that the themes these days just fall a bit short. I had one I liked, but there was something in it that “broke” during a site upgrade and I didn’t feel like downloading a new version of the theme or figuring out what was broken in it. So I picked a different theme that I was okay with. But it’s not one that I actually LIKE.

    But I know Google doesn’t maintain its smaller acquisitions (like Blogger and Blogspot), so there’d be less support there.

    Like

Leave a comment