Into the Tunnel

I felt fear and sadness about this pandemic for the first time today. The disease is currently spiking in Louisiana. Both of us have at-risk family there. But here’s why I got sad. I’m not fearful for myself or even of the likelihood that death will claim my or Tina’s relatives. One thing we learn as we get older is not to fear things we can do nothing about. If God forbid her father or my brother are brought down with it, we can’t go visit and help. All we can do is hold them in our hearts and hope they are not alone. And then I looked out the window in the general direction of my mother’s apartment ten minutes away. She lost a son sixty years ago. Tears started flowing when I thought of her losing another. While there’s no “deserving” when it comes to natural events, she doesn’t deserve that.

We have barely scratched the surface in terms of what this global pandemic means. There will be much death and economic disruption. Now, we all know the Universe brings us what we need. If we need to change, eventually our circumstances become painful or uncomfortable enough that we make the needed changes. So it is with Humanity as a whole. This is a global event. We are not going to come out the other side and go back to business as usual. A lot of powerful forces are going to try and convince us that we should. But the only way we can is if we close our eyes to the lessons this pandemic is bringing us.

Lessons such as? I’m not smart enough to know. Any list I make would be as full of holes as anyone’s. But we are going to learn, and the world will never again be the same. Stay safe, love your loved ones, and remember that we will be given huge opportunities after this unfolding experience to build a better world. Let’s not let politics and the status quo and what-we-know cause us to lose sight of that.

Leave a comment