Restart, No Start 

Probably too insensitive or otherwise inappropriate for Facebook, so I wonder only here how many young people, dissatisfied with their lives, angry at their parents, would consider using the opportunity of being one of the missing after a warehouse rave fire to go ahead and disappear completely. I know there was a time in my young life I would have considered it. 

Only briefly. I wasn’t nearly angry enough. And I’d have been even less angry if I had enough social connection to be at such a party. 

But surely the idea fits someone here and there. It’s unspeakably cruel to friends and family to fake your death. Not on a par with suicide, but headed that way. There are people confused enough to consider it, maybe even try it for a few days. Coming back would be hard, but unavoidable. 

Well, there’s a short story idea. Being the typical writer type, I’ve come up with a pretty good short story idea, and am now going to replace a door and then work down a to-do list that has no writing on it. 

One thought on “Restart, No Start 

  1. Young hell, I considered it off and on in my 40s. If not for the girls… I also wrote a story about it in my interconnected short stories project that got so ridic complicated I had to make a picture of it with circles and arrows so I could follow the goddamn thing myself. But! I am going to return to that project eventually. Goddammit. Thx for the reminder!

    Like

Leave a Reply

